SURREY, BC – The Fraser Valley Real Estate Board (FVREB) elected its new Board of Directors for 2018/2019 at its Annual General Meeting held on February 21st.

John Barbisan will become the Board’s president on March 1st, following outgoing president Gopal Sahota’s term in the role. Barbisan is a licensed REALTOR® of over thirty years, and a representative of Sutton Premier Realty in Surrey.

“It is an honour to lead our organization at a time of such growth and change for real estate in the province,” remarked Barbisan.

“The Fraser Valley has never been more sought-after, and the needs of homeowners, sellers and buyers here continue to evolve in parallel. We will continue to ensure that our members are fully equipped to support those needs, and work towards creating a healthy, professional real estate environment for all.”

Barbisan has served as a Director at the Board for five years and has chaired several member-led committees, including Professional Standards and Arbitration.

The incoming President Elect is Darin Germyn, Macdonald Realty, Surrey and the Vice President is Sandra Benz, RE/MAX Performance Realty, Delta.

Also at the meeting, Ray Yenkana of RE/MAX Little Oak, Abbotsford, received the 2018 John Armeneau Professional of the Year award for his tremendous contributions to real estate in the Fraser Valley and province-wide.  The award is the highest honour the FVREB bestows, recognizing outstanding leadership and conduct professionally and within the community.

“Ray is, without doubt, one of our best,” said outgoing President Gopal Sahota of Yenkana. “There are few in any business that contribute such a positive effort to their industry, and so brightly display the qualities of a true professional.”

Yenkana is the 33rd Fraser Valley member to be recognized with a Professional of the Year award. The award was renamed in 1996 in honour of John Armeneau, a North Delta Realtor who for over two decades was a role model and mentor to other Fraser Valley Realtors.

The FVREB is a professional association of more than 3,524 Realtors in the Fraser Valley providing its members with a variety of membership services including the Multiple Listing Service®, professional development and technological innovation.

The full 2018/2019 FVREB Board of Directors is as follows:

President:  John Barbisan, Sutton Premier Realty, Surrey

President-Elect:  Darin Germyn, Macdonald Realty, Surrey

Vice President:  Sandra Benz, RE/MAX Performance Realty, Delta

Past President:  Gopal Sahota, Sutton Group – West Coast Realty, Surrey


  • Kevin Anstey, KA & Associates Real Estate Ltd., Surrey
  • Larry Anderson, Sutton Premier Realty, Surrey
  • Leah Bach, RE/MAX Performance Realty, Delta
  • Karen Conyers, Sotheby’s Int’l Realty Canada, Surrey
  • Linda Sue Peaker, Macdonald Realty, Delta
  • Darcy Reddicopp, Sutton Group-West Coast Realty, Abbotsford
  • Dharbinder Singh, Century 21 Coastal Realty Ltd., Surrey
  • Ray Werger, Royal LePage West Real Estate Services, Surrey

Fraser Valley’s new Board of Directors takes office on March 1, 2018.

Photo L-R: Vice President Sandra Benz, President John Barbisan, President Elect Darin Germyn